Log in to access members-only content


22 October: Electric Vehicle Energy Taskforce - From Proposals to Actions - full agenda announced!

Mon 19 October 2020 | Back to news list


The Electric Vehicle (EV)  Energy Taskforce - which was convened by LowCVP to help bring energy and automotive stakeholders together to facilitate the electric transition in road transport - is moving into a new action and implementation phase. Sign up (free) for an online networking event on Thursday 22 October, from 2pm, to find out more about the Taskforce's next steps. BEIS Minister for Business, Energy and Clean Growth, Kwasi Kwarteng MP has been confirmed as keynote speaker at the event. The full agenda has just been announced!


The EV Energy Taskforce was established in 2018 to make proposals to government and industry to bring together the auto and energy sectors to ensure that the GB energy system is able to accelerate the mass take-up of electric vehicles while also delivering benefits to the electricity system. The Taskforce's first phase was an unprecedented collaboration of more than 350 organisations including many household names. 

The Taskforce made twenty-one key proposals for actions to be taken by government and industry to enable an effective and efficient electric mobility transition. The proposals were included in a report which was launched in January 2020.

The event on 22 October will update delegates on plans for the next phase of the EV Energy Taskforce as it moves to action the agreed proposals in preparation for their implementation.

There will be contributions from key stakeholders and Taskforce working group leaders, including EV Energy Taskforce Chair, Philip New, Chief Executive of the Energy Systems Catapult, and Taskforce Deputy Chair Andy Eastlake, LowCVP's Managing Director. See below for the full list of speakers.

The event will run from 2pm to 5pm and include presentations, a panel debate and interactive sessions with working group leaders. There will also be opportunities for interactive networking between delegates after the formal proceedings.

EV Energy Taskforce - From Proposals to Actions speakers:

KeynoteRt Hon Kwasi Kwarteng MP, Minister for Business, Energy and Clean Growth, BEIS


  • Philip New, EV Energy Taskforce Chair; Chief Executive, Energy Systems Catapult
  • Andy Eastlake, EV Energy Taskforce Deputy Chair; Managing Director, Low Carbon Vehicle Partnership


  • Randolph Brazier, Head of Innovation Energy Network Association
  • Jonathan Bray, Director, Urban Transport Group (tbc)
  • Richard Dobson, Technical Collaboration Consultant, Energy Systems Catapult
  • Sam Hollister, Director of Economics and Corporate Services, Energy UK
  • Richard Halsey, Director of Capabilities, Energy Systems Catapult 
  • Neil Kenward, Director for Strategy and Decarbonisation, Ofgem
  • Rajni Nair, Senior Policy Researcher, Citizens Advice
  • Gill Nowell, Board member, Electric Vehicle Association England
  • John Parsons, Director Digital, BEAMA
  • Howard Porter, Chief Executive, BEAMA
  • Peter Stephens, Head of UK External & Government Affairs, Nissan
  • Nina Skorupska, Chief Executive, Renewable Energy Association (tbc)
  • Thalia Skoufa, Transport Practice Manager, Energy Systems Catapult
  • Sebastiaan Van Dort, Associate Director and Head of Energy, BSI
  • Paul Van Heyningen, Deputy Director, EV & Net Zero Electricity Networks, BEIS
  • Dhara Vyas, Head of Future Energy Services, Citizens Advice
  • David Wong, Technology & Innovation Manager, Society of Motor Manufacturers and Traders 

For the full agenda click here.


comments powered by Disqus

< Back to news list

Search news

Related member