Log in to access members-only content

LowCVP Annual Conference 2014

Essential information

Date: Tuesday 15 July 2014
Location: Central London
Contact: lowcvp@connectpa.co.uk
Tickets: Register here


The LowCVP Conference 2015 will take place on Wednesday 24 June in Central London, sponsored by EDF Energy.

Click here to register now!

The low carbon contribution: Driving growth; delivering jobs

The LowCVP Conference 2014 will take place on Tuesday 15 July in Central London, sponsored by EDF Energy.

This year the LowCVP Conference looks at The Low Carbon Contribution: Driving Growth; Delivering Jobs. It will launch new research by E4tech/CAIR, recently commissioned by the LowCVP, which examines how a low carbon policy focus has impacted on automotive investment and jobs as well as on environmental progress. 

BaronessAs always, the LowCVP Conference attracts a range of high profile and influential speakers and we are delighted that Baroness Kramer, Minister of State for Transport will deliver the keynote address.

There will be sessions on how the national low carbon policy agenda can be delivered at local level and on the politics and prospects for lower carbon fuels.


The final Conference session will focus on innovative approaches to the introduction of electric vehicles. Earlier this year, Bolloré Group announced plans to bring Autolib Paris - the electric car sharing service which began in December 2011 - to London in 2015. Find out about progress in these plans from speakers Cedric Bolloré of Bolloré Group and Matthew Pencharz, Adviser to the Mayor, Boris Johnson, on Environment and Energy.

Please also join us at the post-conference drinks reception to network with other delegates, VIPs and MPs sponsored by Shell International.

For more information about the exciting sponsorship and exhibition opportunities available, please contact the LowCVP Secretariat on secretariat@lowcvp.org.uk.

Confirmed speakers include:

Baroness Kramer, Minister of State, Department for Transport

(Chair, morning) James Murray, Editor, Business Green

(Chair, final afternoon session) Henry Foy, Automotive Correspondent, Financial Times

Adam Chase, Director, E4Tech

Andy Eastlake, Managing Director, LowCVP

Cedric Bolloré, Director of Industry Activities, Bolloré Group (Autolib Paris)

Dr Chris Malins, Fuels Lead, International Council on Clean Transportation (ICCT)  

Darran Messem, International Director, Carbon Trust and Chair, LowCVP

Dave Roberts, Director, My Electric Avenue

Diana Raine, European Business Manager, Hydrogen Energy Systems

Gloria Esposito, Head of Projects, LowCVP

Professor Greg Marsden, Institute for Transport Studies, University of Leeds

Jerry Hardcastle OBE, General Manager – Innovation and Performance Projects, Nissan Motor Manufacturing (UK) Limited  

Professor Jim Skea CBE, Professor of Sustainable Energy, Imperial College London and the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC)

Joe Greenwell CBE, Chief Executive Officer, Automotive Investment Organisation

Jonathan Murray, Director of Policy and Operations, LowCVP

Matthew Pencharz, Adviser to the Mayor of London for Environment and Energy 

Michael Hurwitz, Director, Energy, Technology & International, Department for Transport

Mike Southcombe, Environmental Protection Manager, City of York Council

Murad Qureshi, Chair, Environment Committee, Greater London Authority

Nicola Smith, Head of  Economic and Social Affairs, Trades Union Congress (TUC)

Patrick Lynch, Biofuels Sustainability Manager, Greenergy

Professor Peter Wells, Professor of Business and Sustainability, Cardiff Business School

Richard Stark, Advocacy Manager Renewable Energy, AB Sugar

Dr Rupert Lewis, Head of Automotive Policy, Dept for Business, Innovation and Skills

Rob Wakely, Head of Low Carbon Fuels, Department for Transport

Will Straw, Associate Director for Climate Change, Energy and Transport (& prospective Parliamentary candidate)

Click here to register now!

Conference sponsor

edf energy

Featured speakers

James Murray

(Chair) James Murray

Editor, Business Green

Darren Messem

Will Straw

Associate Director for Climate Change, Energy and Transport, ippr


Jerry Hardcastle

General Manager – Innovation and Performance Projects, Nissan 

Matthew Pencharz

Adviser to the Mayor of London for Environment and Energy

Murad Qureishi

Chair, Environment Committee, Greater London Authority

Nicola Smith

Head of Economic and Social Affairs, Trades Union Congress (TUC)

Media partner

Business Green

Spread the word!

          Drinks Reception